Massachusetts Residents Can Now Have Wine Shipped To Them Direct-to-Consumer Wine Shipping Laws
One of the many laws that became effective Jan. 1, 2015 include a direct-to-consumer wine shipping law which allows wineries in the U.S. to ship up to 12 cases of wine directly to individual consumers in Massachusetts. Happy New Year Massachusetts!
Unfortunately, each winery will have to pay a $300 initial fee for a direct shipper’s license and an additional $150 renewal fee each year afterwards. While a great leap forward for consumers, this additional fees also include reporting requirements which means additional costs for wineries and ultimately consumers. Each state that does allow DTC wine shipping has different fee and reporting requirements which is a barrier for small wineries trying to compete with the big outfits. In fact, we're one of those small wineries that are not currently shipping to Mass and it's the people there that are missing out.
Massachusetts is the 42nd state, plus Washington, D.C, to enact some form of direct-to-consumer (DTC) shipping. A big proponent of the new law was former New England Patriot quaterback turned winemaker Drew Bledsoe. Bledsoe owns a winery outside of Walla Walla Washington and die hard Patriot fans were irked not being able to get their hands on his wines.
If Massachusetts is the 42nd state, what are the other states that still do not allow DTC wine shipments? They are Utah, South Dakota, Oklahoma, Mississippi, Alabama, Kentucky, Pennsylvania & Delaware. If you live in one of these hold out states, go to FreeTheGrapes.org, click on your state and take 2 minutes to let your legislators what you think!